Full of It – Good News for November 7

7 11 2008

St. Paul’s Letter to the Philippians 3: 17 

Join with others in being imitators of me, brothers and sisters, and observe those who thus conduct themselves  according to the model you have in us. For many, as I have often told you and now tell you even in tears, conduct themselves as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their end is destruction. Their God is their stomach; their glory is in their “shame.” Their minds are occupied with earthly things.

But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we also await a savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. He will change our lowly body to conform with his glorified Body by the power that enables him also  to bring all things into subjection to himself.

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, in this way stand firm in the Lord, beloved.

The Daily Path: St. Paul was moved to tears in urging the Philippians to stay on path and shut out the words of those who would lead them away from God. In the past week, two people very close to me have expressed great surprise at my sudden return to faith. I can’t blame them. If you knew me as a younger man, you’d be scratching your head, too.

I try to describe what happened and how I feel… with limited success. It’s certainly easier to explain a sequence of events leading up to my return to weekly Mass on Easter 2008, than it is to describe how I’ve been touched. I share this because as St. Paul was moved to emotion, that’s how I would best describe what my return to faith has been. Very emotional. Often to the brink of tears… even in public. These aren’t tears of sadness. Most of the time I actually feel full of joy.

Some who have known me for many years would say that “I’ve always been full of it.” Well, they’re correct. I am. But not in the same way I used to be.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

