Our Mother – Good News for December 12

12 12 2008

Luke 1:39-47

Mary set out and traveled to the hill country in haste to a town of Judah, where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth.

When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the infant leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth, filled with the Holy Spirit, cried out in a loud voice and said, “Most blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb. And how does this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? For at the moment the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the infant in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord
would be fulfilled.”

And Mary said, “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; my spirit rejoices in God my savior.” 

The Daily Path: Today is the feast day of Our Lady of Guadalupe. I encourage you to read the story of Our Lady’s appearance in 1531 to a native by the name of Juan Diego near Mexico City. She is the patroness of North America and protector of the poor and needy.

Mary, the Blessed Mother of Jesus, has played an important role in my life since my parents offered me up to Her as an infant. I often visit the Chapel at St. Mary’s College for contemplation and prayer. My favorite place to do so is in front of the image of Our Lady of Guadalupe. On numerous occasions, in the quiet peace of the chapel, I’ve asked Our Lady to carry my prayers to Her Son on my behalf. I know that some of these prayers have been answered. 

Hail Mary, full of grace. The Lord is with you. You are blessed among women. And blessed is your Son, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, please pray for this sinner and all sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

