Fill Your Stomach – Good News for January 11

11 01 2009

Isaiah 55

Thus says the Lord: All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk! Why spend your money for what is not bread, your wages for what fails to satisfy? Heed me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare. Come to me heedfully, listen, that you may have life.
I will renew with you the everlasting covenant, the benefits assured to David. 

Seek the LORD while he may be found, call him while he is near. Let the scoundrel forsake his way, and the wicked man his thoughts; let him turn to the Lord for mercy; to our God, who is generous in forgiving.

The Daily Path: At times it is easy to overlook how thirsty or hungry I have become. This occurs during periods when I focus too much on the world and not enough on God. I don’t feel a pit in my stomach or dryness in my throat. However, I do feel a void. A disconnect from the joy that I’ve come to know along this spiritual journey home. 

“Why spend your money for what is not bread, your wages for what fails to satisfy?”

Room to Chat: Just as the waking moments of each day can a perfect time to say “hello” to God, so too, are the final thoughts of the day. Say “good night” to God and let Him fill you with peace as you drift off to “a better night’s” sleep.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

