Speak, I Am Listening – Good News for January 18

18 01 2009

Samuel 3:3-19

Samuel was sleeping in the temple of the Lord where the ark of God was. The Lord called to Samuel, who answered, “Here I am.” Samuel ran to Eli and said, “Here I am.  You called me.”

“I did not call you, “  Eli said.  “Go back to sleep.” So he went back to sleep.

Again the LORD called Samuel, who rose and went to Eli. “Here I am, “ he said.  “You called me.” But Eli answered, “I did not call you, my son.  Go back to sleep.”

At that time Samuel was not familiar with the Lord, because the Lord had not revealed anything to him as yet. The Lord called Samuel again, for the third time. Getting up and going to Eli, he said, “Here I am.  You called me.”

Then Eli understood that the Lord was calling the youth. So he said to Samuel, “Go to sleep, and if you are called, reply, Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.”

When Samuel went to sleep in his place, the Lord came and revealed his presence, calling out as before, “Samuel, Samuel!” Samuel answered, “Speak, for your servant is listening.”

Samuel grew up, and the Lord was with him, not permitting any word of his to be without effect.

The Daily Path: Like Samuel’s experience, when God began to call my number again, I didn’t see it for what it was. No voices in the night that I could hear. In my case it was a series of events. Some I couldn’t ignore. Other events were very subtle. Most I missed and it’s only in hindsight that I can see how God was calling my name through what was happening in my life. 

Most of us have heard the old phrase “God works in mysterious ways.” He does, and He “speaks” to us in countless ways. Open your minds to hear His call. Listen and let His words have an effect on your life. 

Shhhh. He’s calling right now. 

Room to Chat: Last night I watched a travel log featuring some magnificent regions in southern Spain. The hosts visited several ancient sites featuring magnificent gardens that are still lush to this day. These gardens were originally created so that both owner and visitor could find peaceful haven. Even through a television visit you could see these gardens were also intended as a place for spiritual renewal. Have you found your own garden for renewal?

Actions

Information

One response

18 01 2009
pttyann

Hello Ken
I enjoyed your post & your testimony.
Numbers 6:24~26
Love in Christ Pat

Leave a Reply

