Who’s The Real Nut Case? – Good News for January 24

24 01 2009

Mark 3:20-21

Jesus came with his disciples into the house. Again the crowd gathered, making it impossible for them even to eat. When his relatives heard of this they set out to seize him, for they said, “He is out of his mind.” 

The Daily Path: In Mark’s Gospel we see how even some of Jesus’ own family members doubt Him. (I encourage you to read the rest of Mark 3:22-35)

I have witnessed and experienced the pain that a family can manifest upon itself. Most of us have at some point or another. Sometimes you just shake your head in disbelief at the madness. Other times the wound is deep. Without treatment it will fester away for years.

As much as we can love and trust our relatives, I see that God offers the one true family that never disappoints or betrays us.

Room to Chat: Yesterday, I was feeling a great deal of anxiety. It grew worse as the day progressed. As evening arrived, I just went to the sofa, laid down, and closed my eyes. All I wanted to do was draw close to God. I didn’t pray in a formal sense or even have much of a dialogue. I just wanted to feel close to Him. I guess this was my way of handing that anxiety, which I had no control over, back to God. In the moments that followed… I felt at peace. 

Please consider my experience the next time you feel the path is too difficult. God IS there for you. Really!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

