Rebirthday – Good News for March 9

9 03 2009

Give and gifts will be given to you…

Luke 6:36-38

Jesus said to his disciples, “Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

“Stop judging and you will not be judged. Stop condemning and you will not be condemned. Forgive and you will be forgiven. Give and gifts will be given to you; a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing, will be poured into your lap. For the measure with which you measure will in return be measured out to you.”

The Daily Path: Early on the morning of March 9, 1958, I arrived into this world. I was sent forth by God to spend at least 51 years on this earth.

Last night my family placed a single candle on my favorite key-lime pie. One candle because they viewed this as the first birthday celebration for the second half of my life. My very pregnant wife said “You’ll have to live until at least 100 with this big family.” She’s correct and I’ll be working the whole time to support them!

What they didn’t see is that this is truly my first birthday celebration since my re-birth. The second time God has sent me forth in this world. This time it’s with eyes that can see Him at work and ears that hear His message.

After my wife releases me from my obligation to serve our family for another 50 years, I hope that anyone looking back on my life will see that today’s Gospel tells the story of the second half of my life. 

Join me in celebrating my second “best birthday” ever. Thanks God. Thanks Mom and Dad. Thanks family. Thanks friends. Wahooooo! Pass the pie!

Room to Chat: I’m declaring today a global birthday celebration. As such, you are asked to participate by: Thanking God for including you in His plan and thanking your parents for making it possible.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

