Into Your Hands – Good News for April 10

10 04 2009

Father, into your hands I commend my spirit…

Hebrews 4:14-16; 5:7-9

Brothers and sisters: Since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast to our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who has similarly been tested in every way, yet without sin. So let us confidently approach the throne of grace to receive mercy and to find grace for timely help.

In the days when Christ was in the flesh, he offered prayers and supplications with loud cries and tears to the one who was able to save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverence. Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered; and when he was made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him.

The Daily Path: “Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.”

I hope you can find a few extra minutes today to read John’s account of the Passion of Christ.

Room to Chat: As we remember Christ’s suffering, His ultimate sacrifice to save us, and His complete obedience to the Father, let us also remember Michael and all who suffer this day. (Also, please keep my mother in your prayers as today is her birthday. I love you, Mom!)

In you, O Lord, I take refuge; let me never be put to shame. In your justice rescue me. Into your hands I commend my spirit; you will redeem me, O Lord, O faithful God.

For all my foes I am an object of reproach, a laughingstock to my neighbors, and a dread to my friends; they who see me abroad flee from me. I am forgotten like the unremembered dead; I am like a dish that is broken.

But my trust is in you, O Lord; I say, “You are my God. In your hands is my destiny; rescue me from the clutches of my enemies and my persecutors.”

Let your face shine upon your servant; save me in your kindness. Take courage and be stouthearted, all you who hope in the Lord.

(See Room to Chat: Come Out – Good News for March 29)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

