Shepherding – Good News for May 3

3 05 2009

John 10:11-18

Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd. A good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. A hired man, who is not a shepherd and whose sheep are not his own, sees a wolf coming and leaves the sheep and runs away, and the wolf catches and scatters them. This is because he works for pay and has no concern for the sheep.

I am the good shepherd, and I know mine and mine know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I will lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that do not belong to this fold. These also I must lead, and they will hear my voice, and there will be one flock, one shepherd. This is why the Father loves me, because I lay down my life in order to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down on my own. I have power to lay it down, and power to take it up again. This command I have received from my Father.”

The Daily Path: What father wouldn’t lay down his own life for his children to live?

Actions

Information

One response

4 05 2009
rylanreed

This is such a good representative of what Christ is for us, our Lord and our Savior, the one who is the only way for us to have a personal relationship with God and eternal life. He loved us first and came to die so we could be able to have that relationship with Him.

It is also a good showing of what Christian men are suppose to do for their children, to love them no matter what, and help them in anyway possible. Teaching them right from wrong and always pointing them towards Christ. Jesus never neglects us and by this verse showing us His love before we even knew Him. As Godly men, we should build up our households in a way that would be glorifying to God and living as Christ lived (even though we are sinners, we can still strive for His holiness). Let us love our kids as Christ loved us, spend quality time with them, and be a good example for their lives. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

