My Road – Good News for June 15

15 06 2009

Matthew 5:38-42

Jesus said to his disciples, “You have heard that it was said,

An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.

But I say to you, offer no resistance to one who is evil. When someone strikes you on your right cheek, turn the other one to him as well. If anyone wants to go to law with you over your tunic, hand him your cloak as well. Should anyone press you into service for one mile, go with him for two miles. Give to the one who asks of you, and do not turn your back on one who wants to borrow.”

The Daily Path: Good friends and fellow travelers, no one will be surprised to hear me say that the road we journey on is difficult. Potholes, sharp rocks, steep cliffs, and precarious footholds are constantly in our way making the trip that much tougher. Each of us carry burdens on our shoulders. Sometimes the load feels heavier than others, especially when we deal with tragedy or allow events to take hold of us. I know this to be true as I’m in the midst of it myself.

A number of weeks ago, I came to understand that I’m battling depression. I won’t go into the details, but saw enough to realize something out of the ordinary has taken hold.

Depression is not something that I’m very familiar with. The hallmark of my life has been more closely aligned with joy than despair. There is much I don’t know about the trough that I will begin to climb out of in the days ahead. This trail won’t be easy, but I know that I’m not alone. Although I’ve been given this cross to bear, God has not abandoned me. In fact, I would say that He has placed it squarely upon my shoulders so the joy that once radiated from within will grow permanently stronger and brighter for others to experience.  

Along with providing a means to stay connected to God on a daily basis, this blog is about how one man has returned to God and my witness to all this spiritual journey entails. It’s in that same spirit of truth that I share my current state with you. Please keep me in your prayers. 

Once again, Our Lord reminds me that I am not in control of the journey. Obviously, He has more lessons for me to learn.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

