He Chose Us – Good News for July 12

12 07 2009

Ephisians 1:3-10

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavens, as he chose us in him, before the foundation of the world, to be holy and without blemish before him.  In love he destined us for adoption to himself through Jesus Christ, in accord with the favor of his will, for the praise of the glory of God’s grace that he granted us in the beloved.

In him we have redemption by his blood, the forgiveness of transgressions, in accord with the riches of his grace that he lavished upon us.  In all wisdom and insight, he has made known to us the mystery of his will in accord with his favor that he set forth in him as a plan for the fullness of times, to sum up all things in Christ, in heaven and on earth.

The Daily Path: This morning started off rather poorly. I was having a little pity party and blaming our Lord for my current state of affairs. By blaming our Lord, I mean that I wasn’t going to go to Mass as if my state of mind were His fault. I didn’t feel well and thought I’d just parlay that into a Sunday hall pass. 

Then one of those little messages from God arrived. My wife started to round up the kids and get them ready for Church. Mind you, she’s not even Catholic. She asked if I was planning to shower as time was getting tight. Next thing I know, I’m at Mass listening to one of those sermons that really make you think. While I always enjoy Fr. Wayne’s insights, today was particularly poignant.

God does choose us. Picks us out and picks us up when we fall. And sometimes the fall isn’t as bad as we think. Sometimes the fall is really His plan so that we can draw even closer. Now if I can just remember that along the way.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

