Shepherd’s Call – Good News for July 19

19 07 2009

St. Paul’s letter to the Ephesians 2:13-14

Brothers and sisters,

In Christ Jesus you who once were far off have become near by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace… 

Mark 6:30-34

The apostles gathered together with Jesus and reported all they had done and taught.  He said to them, “Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” 

People were coming and going in great numbers, and they had no opportunity even to eat. So they went off in the boat by themselves to a deserted place. People saw them leaving and many came to know about it. They hastened there on foot from all the towns and arrived at the place before them.

When he disembarked and saw the vast crowd, his heart was moved with pity for them, for they were like sheep without a shepherd; and he began to teach them many things.

The Daily Path: I was far off for many years. There was no shepherd in my life. Then, one day not all that long ago, I was suddenly called back. In my return to God, I found peace and a sense of direction. Christ brought me back to the main flock.

Since then I have learned that although we love God and believe (as best as our flawed human selves are capable of) we can still get lost at times. Recent events in my own life have caused great fear and anxiety. In these days I felt lost and disconnected. In some ways I forgot where the spring of life really exists and the peace that flows from it. But the Good Shepherd is never far from his sheep. Though we may feel lost and tremble in fear… Christ will come to find us.

Over the past two days, I have felt more at peace than at any time in the past two months. I believe that once again… the Shepherd has come to find me.

Room to Chat: Father, thank you for taking pity on me and bringing some peace back to my life. Please keep all of us who are fearful close to You. Continue to calm our fears. 

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

