In The Bucket – Good News for July 30

30 07 2009

Matthew 13:47-51

Jesus said to the disciples, “The Kingdom of heaven is like a net thrown into the sea, which collects fish of every kind. When it is full they haul it ashore and sit down to put what is good into buckets. What is bad they throw away. Thus it will be at the end of the age. The angels will go out and separate the wicked from the righteous and throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.”

The Daily Path: I know that one day, maybe even today, I’ll be called before God for a final performance review. When that time comes, my life will be judged. it will either be the bucket of eternal life or the scrap heap.

I spent many years in the shadows. Too many for my redemption? That’s up to God. But I believe in Christ’s promise of eternal life with Him. I believe in His promise of forgiveness. As I accept Christ’s promise and teachings, I must also accept responsibility to recognize where I fall short and continually strive to do better.

Everyday a new opportunity exists to draw closer to God. I hope that in the hour when I am called to stand before God it will be in the midst of doing what Our Lord has asked of me. I’d like to have at least a foot in the bucket.

Room to Chat: Lord, help me to see my shortcomings today and everyday so that I might learn to do better in living the life You have asked of me.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

