Cheerful Giver – Good News for August 10

10 08 2009

St. Paul’s 2nd letter to the Corinthians 9:6-10

Brothers and sisters,

Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows bountifully will also reap bountifully. Each must do as already determined, without sadness or compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

Moreover, God is able to make every grace abundant for you, so that in all things, always having all you need, you may have an abundance for every good work. As it is written:

He scatters abroad, he gives to the poor; his righteousness endures forever.

The one who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed and increase the harvest of your righteousness.

The Daily Path: One of the great blessings in my life has been the desire to pursue the presence of God and embrace Christ’s teachings. This wasn’t always so. For over thirty years I wandered the desert. Any attempt to find the Lord wasn’t done with a truly cheerful heart. As I recently told my fellow parishioners at St. Monica’s, I deeply regret every day in my life that I didn’t embrace God. I didn’t know what abundance I was missing out on.

Today, if you were to assess my balance sheet using the financial standards that so many hold above all else, you would see that I’m a junk bond at best. Yet, despite this current situation, I feel God has showered His abundance on me and my family. The piggy bank may lay shattered before me, but somehow, even miraculously, there is enough of what we need.

Yesterday. I had cause to sit back and shake my head in wonder over this abundance. I have a beautiful family each of whom possess amazing gifts that bring great joy to all they touch. We have our love for each other. We have our health. We live in a town that provides safety and a wonderful educational opportunities. We are members of a parish community that cares for not only its members, but all in need. We have friends and family who stand with us in the storm. We have enough to eat and a roof over our heads. And, most importantly… God has entered our lives.

Truly, it is my experience that God does shower His abundance to those who love and believe in Him. I pray that I will be ever mindful of this great lesson and always be the cheerful giver He asks of me.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

