An Act of Contrition – Good News for August 30

29 08 2009

The Daily Path:

“(The) gift of faith has sustained and nurtured and provides solace to me in the darkest hours. I know that I have been an imperfect human being, but with the help of my faith I have tried to right my path.”

Senator Ted Kennedy

(Excerpt from his letter to Pope Benedict XVI that was hand delivered by President Obama on July 10, 2009)

This is not the gospel as handed down in Sacred Scripture, but when I heard this excerpt read during Ted Kennedy’s burial service at Arlington National Cemetery, the words echoed in my heart. Like Kennedy, and all of mankind, I too, am an imperfect being struggling on the road home to our Father in Heaven. And, as with Kennedy, it has been my faith and my renewal in Christ that provides the strength to continue on through the darkest of times.

We try to right our path and in doing so have faith that we will be forgiven.

Room to Chat: Lord, I am not worthy to receive you, but only say the word…

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

