Reconnect – Good News for September 21

21 09 2009

Matthew 9:9-13

As Jesus passed by, he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the customs post. He said to him, “Follow me.” And he got up and followed him.

While he was at table in his house, many tax collectors and sinners came and sat with Jesus and his disciples. The Pharisees saw this and said to his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?”

He heard this and said, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do. Go and learn the meaning of the words, I desire mercy, not sacrifice. I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”

The Daily Path: Ironically, it was a point in my life when I felt the most disconnected from God that I heard His voice calling me. In today’s reading we find people gathered around Jesus who were also feeling disconnected (“sinners”). I’m convinced that they felt an overwhelming emptiness and were drawn to the light of Jesus to reconnect.

This morning I received very sad news about a former colleague who’s husband became so disconnected that he took his own life. My heart weighs heavy as I think about this family and their son who is the same age as my oldest. This is such a tragedy.

While I cannot claim to know the full burden of anxiety that Keith bore, I can understand some of it. What I can comprehend makes me even more thankful for how God has reached out to hold me close during the most difficult time of my life. I’m reminded of what amazing gifts I have been given and how precious they are. I’m reminded that behind it all is a loving and merciful Father… one who loved me enough to get my attention and say “Come follow me, again.”

I hope that in that final instant of Keith’s life that God once again held out his hand to draw him near. To reconnect.

Room to Chat: Father, bring your love, strength and peace to Keith’s wife and son in the day’s ahead. Help them hear your voice in the midst this storm. Be merciful to your child who found this life to be too great a challenge. Hold him close again. This we ask in the name of Jesus, who you sent to forgive all our sins.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

One response

21 09 2009
waltkaye

Well…thanks for your words. Hard to tell more, but I feel with you about the man you mention – Keith; and maybe I feel a little bit of the situation of him before he did his suicide. I am a christian, quite often disconnected to God, depressive and thinking of suicide daily for many years. However, it is exactly my family who gives me the power I need to survive; and have (only and still) some small islands of hope somewhere in the corners of my heart, that God still will take me to him. With the minimal believe I have, I hope that Jesus will be my saviour, despite all sins and bad toughts.
I am note sure whether I can keep my position all time. Maybe one day something changes. However (and not knowing about Keith), often suicide comes from internal problems and (mis-)interpretations of life. Seldom (to my experience, I am connected to some other people with depression), the cause comes from the family.
If he had smaller children, maybe this book helps to explain a little bit: http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/system/topicRoot/Black_Dog/
I have the german version, and I used it to explain it to my smaller daughter.
Be blessed

Leave a Reply

