Seeing Great Things – Good News for September 29

29 09 2009

John 1:47-51

Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him and said of him, “Here is a true child of Israel. There is no duplicity in him.” Nathanael said to him, “How do you know me?” Jesus answered and said to him, “Before Philip called you, I saw you under the fig tree.” Nathanael answered him, “Rabbi, you are the Son of God; you are the King of Israel.”

Jesus answered and said to him, “Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than this.” And he said to him, “Amen, amen, I say to you, you will see heaven opened and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.”

The Daily Path: I’ve been watching the new Ken Burns series on America’s National Parks (The National Parks: America’s Best Idea). While nothing can fully compare to experiencing these places in person, much of their majesty is conveyed by the images captured in this film. Many of the individuals Burns interviews in the series speak of the transcendent moments that commonly occur when visitors first “experience” Yosemite, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, or some of the other parks. I know this to be true as I have experienced the phenomenon myself… again and again.

John Muir, Theodore Roosevelt, and countless others have commented on being transformed after seeing these places as “temples of the Creator”. They are correct. The National Parks, and many other places in the world, are truly wonders of God. It’s easy to see the hand of the Creator in them.

I have sat at the foot of the great granite monoliths of Yosemite and been humbled by my own insignificance. I have watched the sun rise and set while huddled atop peaks in the Range of Light (Muir’s name for the Sierra Nevada mountains). Recently, I attended Richard Rohr’s talk on Eco-Spirtuality (finding God in nature). Throughout my life, I have been blessed with the opportunity to experience God first hand in some of the most spectacular natural showcases on this earth. Each time I make this eco-spiritual connection, I have been filled with an overwhelming sense of peace. Words cannot begin to describe these experiences.

Jesus promises that we as believers will see great things and the opening of Heaven. If you look for His hand in nature, you can see great things all around. Perhaps even a small understanding of what the magnificence of Heaven will be.

nature

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

