Be Still – Good News for October 6

6 10 2009

Luke 10:38-42

Jesus entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him. She had a sister named Mary who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak.

Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.”

The Lord said to her in reply, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.”

The Daily Path: This is one of my favorite passages because it’s a snapshot of our busy lives. We are a busy people. Like ants going about their relentless duty, we often become mindless androids so entrenched in the tasks that we forget about our purpose. We concern ourselves with accomplishments. We strive to achieve status.

I’m no different. For every sixty ticks of the clock, how many do I dedicate to living a life that will be pleasing to the Father? How many minutes will I stop and appreciate His hand in the world that surrounds me? Very few in the scheme of things.

I need to be still and listen at His feet.

Room to Chat: Lord, help me to slow down, be still, and choose the better part of living a life that is pleasing to You.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

