What Shall I Do? – Good News for November 6

6 11 2009

Luke 16:1-8

Jesus said to his disciples, “A rich man had a steward who was reported to him for squandering his property. He summoned him and said, ‘What is this I hear about you? Prepare a full account of your stewardship, because you can no longer be my steward.’

The steward said to himself, ‘What shall I do, now that my master is taking the position of steward away from me? I am not strong enough to dig and I am ashamed to beg. I know what I shall do so that, when I am removed from the stewardship, they may welcome me into their homes.’

He called in his master’s debtors one by one. To the first he said, ‘How much do you owe my master?’ He replied, ‘One hundred measures of olive oil.’ He said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note. Sit down and quickly write one for fifty.’

Then to another he said, ‘And you, how much do you owe?’ He replied, ‘One hundred measures of wheat.’ He said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note; write one for eighty.’

And the master commended that dishonest steward for acting prudently. For the children of this world are more prudent in dealing with their own generation than the children of light.”

The Daily Path: During these difficult days, many are asking themselves “What shall I do, now?” I know, because I’ve heard the question veiled behind the words used by my neighbors to describe their current situations and worries. I also know because I’m one of them.

Like the steward in Jesus’ parable, I’ve somehow lost the confidence and expertise I once possessed that enabled me “to dig”. Although this sudden handicap has terrified me no end, I also recognize that this is “the Masters” doing. God has shaken me up for reasons I can’t fully understand; yet I believe that there is a plan in all of this… God’s plan. Perhaps the skills I once used to dig aren’t the ones that God wants me to use now.

Earlier this week while I should have been savoring a wonderful experience with good friends, their company actually had me feeling very low as I reflected on the success I once enjoyed working with them (and now see that in some ways I had unwisely taken for granted). Yes, dear friends, I’m ashamed to say that in the midst of one the most spectacular places on earth, I was having a little pity party. Yet in those low moments I was also blessed with the sudden ability to vividly see and actually feel the magnificence of what God has created around us. These seemingly conflicting moments proved a reminder that all things are possible for God. If I am a child of God then I am also in His plan and an integral part of this abundant magnificence that surrounds us.

I may not be able to use the shovel in my hands to dig the way I once did, but that is only because I’m still looking at it the same way I always have. Like the steward, I must adjust my outlook on what is before me. And in doing so, see how God now intends for me to dig.

Room to Chat: Abba, all things are possible for you. Help me, and so many others like me, to see the way ahead. Guide our hands in re-learning how to use the tools you have given us.

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

