Saving Faith – Good News for November 11

11 11 2009

Luke 17:11-19

As Jesus continued his journey to Jerusalem, he traveled through Samaria and Galilee. As he was entering a village, ten lepers met him. They stood at a distance from him and raised their voice, saying, “Jesus, Master! Have pity on us!” And when he saw them, he said, “Go show yourselves to the priests.” As they were going they were cleansed.

And one of them, realizing he had been healed, returned, glorifying God in a loud voice; and he fell at the feet of Jesus and thanked him. He was a Samaritan. Jesus said in reply, “Ten were cleansed, were they not? Where are the other nine?  Has none but this foreigner returned to give thanks to God?”

Then he said to him, “Stand up and go; your faith has saved you.”

The Daily Path: Ten men were healed, but only one gave thanks.

How often have I become so “comfortable” in my current condition that it’s difficult for me to see change? As I continue to focus and reflect on the abundance God has provided, it seems that I have acted more like the nine than the one. Have I truly recognized his redemption and returned to give thanks to God? Or have I been so busy “showing myself” that all too often I forget the source of all that I have been blessed with.

Room to Chat: Father, you alone have returned my sight. Help me to always see You, the one true source of abundance. Thank you!

our_lady2

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

