Drowsy – Good News for November 28

28 11 2009

Luke 21:34-36

Jesus said to his disciples, “Beware that your hearts do not become drowsy from carousing and drunkenness
and the anxieties of daily life, and that day catch you by surprise like a trap. For that day will assault everyone who lives on the face of the earth. Be vigilant at all times and pray that you have the strength to escape the tribulations that are imminent and to stand before the Son of Man.”

The Daily Path: Have you ever dealt with something so daunting in your life that sleep provides the only relief? Then you wake up… and the heavy heart returns.

In my own life I have experienced a “drowsy” heart brought on by carousing, drunkenness, and most recently, anxiety. I’m not sure what ultimately drove me to the first two, but I’m grateful that through an awakening of inner grace, I was able to emerge from those depths.

Anxiety in some ways seems to be the greater battle. Left unchecked, it’s a killer. The burden of anxiety wears you down physically, mentally and spiritually. I can understand why it could also lead you back to the other lapses that Jesus warns of. My life teachers speak of surrendering the anxiety and constant worry to the only one who can lift the burden from your heart. The Son of Man. In my heart I know He is indeed the only source of strength to deal with the tribulations of this life.

Room to Chat: Father, show me the path of surrender in these days of Advent. Awaken the grace within me so that my heart may be lifted up to You.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

