Prophets – Good News for December 30

30 12 2009

Luke 2:36-40

There was a prophetess, Anna, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was advanced in years, having lived seven years with her husband after her marriage, and then as a widow until she was eighty-four. She never left the temple, but worshiped night and day with fasting and prayer. And coming forward at that very time, she gave thanks to God and spoke about the child to all who were awaiting the redemption of Jerusalem.

When they had fulfilled all the prescriptions of the law of the Lord, they returned to Galilee, to their own town of Nazareth. The child grew and became strong, filled with wisdom; and the favor of God was upon him.

The Daily Path: With the eve of the New Year upon us, I’m borrowing a page from the prophetess Anna’s playbook by thinking about what is ahead for me in 2010. I know the next 365 days will be very different from the year that rapidly draws to an end. 2009 has been a tumultuous year for me to say the least, presenting a mixed bag of blessings and unimaginable challenges. I look back to see a period of tremendous spiritual growth and outward change. This year could be viewed as a boot camp preparing me for what is next in my life.

While the turning of a calendar page will not signal a new beginning in the eyes of God, it does provide a boundary for new hope. Like the dawn of each new day, the new year allows us to move ahead. More than ever, I see how my path is guided by God. Hopefully, I’ve learned enough in 2009 to have greater faith in His plan allowing me to remove myself from outcomes and go with His flow. I hope Luke’s gospel will in some small way reflect what transpires for me in 2010.

The child grew and became strong, filled with wisdom; and the favor of God was upon him.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

