Internal Heart Drive – Good News for January 1

1 01 2010

Luke 2:16-21

The shepherds went in haste to Bethlehem and found Mary and Joseph, and the infant lying in the manger. When they saw this, they made known the message that had been told them about this child. All who heard it were amazed by what had been told them by the shepherds. And Mary kept all these things, reflecting on them in her heart. Then the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all they had heard and seen, just as it had been told to them. When eight days were completed for his circumcision, he was named Jesus, the name given him by the angel before he was conceived in the womb.

The Daily Path: In this digital age we store more and more of our lives on hard drives both inside and outside our computers. Family photos, home movies, music, written reflections and more find their way onto some form of digital media for archiving and retrieval at some later date. Mary didn’t have the “benefit” of a computer to store her memories of all the amazing things she would experience as the blessed mother of Jesus. If she did, it would have taken a server farm, or two, to archive them all. Instead, we are told, she kept them in her heart!

If only we could do the same and keep the warmth of every joy we’ve ever experienced glowing in our hearts 24/7. Perhaps there would be no room left in our “internal heart drives” for hatred files or anything but the ability to feel love and compassion. Imagine a constant connection to God in our hearts every moment of every day. I wonder if that’s what it means to completely accept God into our life?

Hmm. I’d better get started deleting decades worth of junk files that reside in my heart.

A Joyful New Year to all!

Actions

Information

One response

1 01 2010
Carolina Maine

I love this post! I’ve thought a lot about my junk files too and have decided to let go of them.

I used to never allow my husband to take my picture and I wouldn’t be in photos with my kids and I only wanted to keep my memories internal-kind of like the way you just described what Mary did.

One day, about a year ago-I was looking through my friend, Chelsea’s album and saw that I had no photos of me and my mother together-but her album was full–so then I began taking pictures like crazy for my girls. Once I did that–then I saved them. I don’t have any from my first daughter’s birth–but with my second–Kal made me take pictures. Slowly, I allowed him to–but it wasn’t until I saw Chelsea’s album that I made the decision to take as many pictures as I could-hoping some would survive all the tech changes.

I was always kind of shy–my mom–she was just cold–but I junked that file and forgave her-as I’m not perfect either.

Leave a Reply

