When More is Lent – Good News for February 17

17 02 2010

Mark 6:1-6; 16-18

Jesus said to his disciples, “Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them; otherwise, you will have no recompense from your heavenly Father. When you give alms, do not blow a trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets to win the praise of others. Amen, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give alms, do not let your left hand know what your right is doing, so that your almsgiving may be secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.

“When you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, who love to stand and pray in the synagogues and on street corners so that others may see them. Amen, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will repay you.

“When you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites. They neglect their appearance, so that they may appear to others to be fasting. Amen, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, so that you may not appear to be fasting, except to your Father who is hidden. And your Father who sees what is hidden will repay you.”

The Daily Path: “Stan, Lent is here! Lent is here!”

“Oh, no. You again. Go away. I like my extra portions of pie for dessert.”

“Come on Stan, you get extra during Lent, not less. Extra time to focus on God.”

“Does that mean I can sleep in on Sunday morning if I dream holy thoughts all night?”

“Aaw, Stan. Don’t be so gloomy. You know what I mean. Lent really can be a time of more. Instead of thinking about pie all day, why not think about God to fill your craving?”

“You’re nuts. God doesn’t taste as good as peach pie. Besides, all we ever learned about as kids was give up this and give up that for Lent. Where is the joy in that?”

Obviously my friend Stan Doubtsall doesn’t get it. But I don’t fault him. I never liked Lent either until a friend asked me to try and incorporate a little God into each day during the season. Since I had a lot of time during my long commutes I gave it a try. As crazy as it might sound… the more conversations I had with God during the day, the more I wanted. I suddenly found myself conversing frequently during the many pauses in my day.

Friends, I’m not tooting my horn down in the temple, but I wanted to share with you how my perspective of Lent has changed. The Lenten season presents me with an opportunity to deepen my relationship with the Father. To really focus on my faith. It’s Mardi Gras in reverse. A time to find excess in God.

“Go ahead Stan, have another slice…”

Room to Chat: Father, open up the direct lines. It’s time to add more daytime calling minutes!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

