Lessons of Love – Good News for March 8

8 03 2010

Luke 4:24-30

Jesus said to the people in the synagogue at Nazareth, “Amen, I say to you, no prophet is accepted in his own native place. Indeed, I tell you, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah when the sky was closed for three and a half years and a severe famine spread over the entire land. It was to none of these that Elijah was sent, but only to a widow in Zarephath in the land of Sidon. Again, there were many lepers in Israel during the time of Elisha the prophet; yet not one of them was cleansed, but only Naaman the Syrian.”

When the people in the synagogue heard this, they were all filled with fury. They rose up, drove him out of the town, and led him to the brow of the hill on which their town had been built, to hurl him down headlong. But he passed through the midst of them and went away.

The Daily Path: When the people in the synagogue heard this, they were all filled with fury.

March 8 is always a special day for me as it’s the anniversary of the birth of my grandmother, Florence. She’s been gone now for some 18 years, but on this day we reconnect. I keep “Nana” on my mind throughout the day, and her presence feels so close once again. When I look at the role models in my life, she is right at the top for many reasons, far too many to share with you here today. The one I will share is the lesson of unconditional love that filled her heart.

There was always a great sense of peace about Nana. In my experience with her, no matter what challenges life presented – and there were many – somehow she retained her composure. I never heard her yell nor did I witness those moments of rage we all seem to experience. I’m sure there were many times that she wanted to go off on someone but I only saw a woman who could pass through the midst of the moment and continue on her way. It seemed as though there was only love and forgiveness in her heart, even when she was mugged and robbed no fewer than THREE TIMES in her later life.

Nana was a convert to Catholicism and I always find her great devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus so appropriate because in her own heart was such tremendous love. I pray that in my own life I can demonstrate one tenth the love she demonstrated for others… no matter what the circumstances.

I love you Nana and miss you terribly. Thank you for the lessons of Christ you continue to teach me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 03 2010
Daniel Tomlinson

Tom Brokaw is right. Your Nana, my Granny, my Ma and Pa were part of the greatest generation. I’m thankful beyond words to have had people like them in my life.

God has brought us together in our blogs Kin. Thank you for letting God and Mother Mary use you the way you let them.

I look forward to shaking your hand one day. Grace and peace.

8 03 2010
Kin Robles

The amazing thing about the digital age is how people on opposite ends of the globe can now be brought together as never before. In some ways, Daniel, we’ve had that handshake. But I look forward to one day sitting down with another traveler and sharing a drink from the well. Thank you for accompanying me and so many others on the path. We’ll get there, my friend.

Leave a Reply

