Trial By Father – Good News for March 10

10 03 2010

Matthew 5:17-19

Jesus said to his disciples, “Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets. I have come not to abolish but to fulfill. Amen, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest letter or the smallest part of a letter will pass from the law, until all things have taken place. Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do so
will be called least in the Kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the Kingdom of heaven.”

The Daily Path: My dad sent this to me yesterday. It’s a passage from Sirach 2:1-5:

My son, when you come to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for trials. Be sincere of heart and steadfast undisturbed in time of adversity. Cling to Him, forsake Him not; thus will your future be great. Accept whatever befalls you, in crushing misfortune be patient; for in fire is gold tested, and worthy men in the crucible of humiliation. Trust in God, and he will help you; make straight your ways and hope in Him.

I share this because it’s an example of how our Father in heaven worked through a father on earth. I won’t go into the why, but let’s just say I was suffering from a case of heavy heart and felt overwhelmed by uncertainty. Sound familiar? I know… we all find those rocks in our knapsack from time to time. One of the great “Ah-Ha” moments in my journey was the realization that God knows what is in our heart. Since the beginning of time, our Father in heaven knew what was to fill my heart on March 9, 2010, and in His wisdom God put two things in my path to help lighten my load…

First He sent me among people who are facing challenges far greater than mine. (You think you have it tough, Stan? Forget about it! There is ALWAYS someone worse off than you.) How can you feel sorry for yourself when talking with a mother who lost two children in a fire that claimed not only precious life, but also took away every bit of security and dignity the family had previously known? Don’t even bother. You can’t.

But God wasn’t done. He also knew that I needed to understand more about what was in my heart. So He inspired my father on earth to care for me. Dad sent me a note to offer encouragement. In it, he included the passage from Sirach.

A father working through a father to care for his son. Amazing! Yes, there will be trials in my life through which I’ll be tested again and again. Like everyone else, I must persevere if I’m to get home. But yesterday I was given another amazing glimpse at the wonder of God. And with this understanding comes greater hope for the journey ahead.

Room to Chat: Thank you Father(s). I may be in the deep end of the pool, but I know you won’t let me drown.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

