Hear Him Out – Good News for March 20

20 03 2010

John 7: 40-53

Some in the crowd who heard these words of Jesus said, “This is truly the Prophet.” Others said, “This is the Christ.”
But others said, “The Christ will not come from Galilee, will he? Does not Scripture say that the Christ will be of David’s family and come from Bethlehem, the village where David lived?” So a division occurred in the crowd because of him.
Some of them even wanted to arrest him, but no one laid hands on him.

So the guards went to the chief priests and Pharisees, who asked them, “Why did you not bring him?” The guards answered, “Never before has anyone spoken like this man.” So the Pharisees answered them, “Have you also been deceived? Have any of the authorities or the Pharisees believed in him? But this crowd, which does not know the law, is accursed.”

Nicodemus, one of their members who had come to him earlier, said to them, “Does our law condemn a man before it first hears him and finds out what he is doing?” They answered and said to him, “You are not from Galilee also, are you? Look and see that no prophet arises from Galilee.” Then each went to his own house.

The Daily Path: This passage hit me like a 400 lb. defensive end – translation for those of you who don’t follow sports: to be run over by a freight train. The words of Nicodemus ring out with such clarity. There are many times I have judged an individual or situation before knowing the truth. Perhaps I have jumped on the bandwagon of “popular belief” without having any experience in the truth.

What is even more hard hitting to me is that Nicodemus question doesn’t just pertain to condemnation of an accused. I would say that the question applies to so much more.

The other day I wrote about the ability to touch the wounds of Christ. The desire to embrace the leper. How can we choose to stand by as so many around us suffer when we have NO TRUE CONCEPT of what it is like to walk in their shoes? Yesterday, I waited at a stop light in downtown Oakland. A homeless woman walked slowly through the intersection. There was a time in my life when I would have become very impatient with her to get out of the way so I could proceed on my way. But this time, I looked into her eyes and saw an experience I could not begin to understand at any real depth. This moment was not about judgment – it was about opening my mind and wanting to understand. I wanted to hear her out.

Is it not also true about the faith journey? Why would I condemn Islam when I know little of it? Do I chose to hate millions because of the acts of a few? Why do so many hate Catholics when they know nothing of us? Or Jews? Or Buddhists? Or the local plumbers union for that matter. I could go on and on, but the point is that Nicodemus asks us to be mindful of experiencing the truth before we rush to judgement. Oh, my… this is a question for the ages.

Hear Him out… whoever and whatever “him” might be.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 03 2010
Dr Joy

On my daily travels around downtown San Francisco, I see homeless beggars on every corner. My natural inclination is to be annoyed, but I’ve gotten in the habit of saying a prayer for each of them when I pass by. My thoughts are split between “what would Jesus do” and perhaps that is Jesus himself with the bent back, dirty face and torn clothes.

20 03 2010
Ash

I agree, we should really hear people out instead of passing judgment on first glance. So many conflicts would cease to exist if only we would hear each other out and have dialogue.

20 03 2010
Daniel Tomlinson

You are a man after my own heart. God bless you Kin. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

