Appearances – Good News for March 22

22 03 2010

John 8:12-20

Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

So the Pharisees said to him, “You testify on your own behalf, so your testimony cannot be verified.”

Jesus answered and said to them, “Even if I do testify on my own behalf, my testimony can be verified, because I know where I came from and where I am going. But you do not know where I come from or where I am going. You judge by appearances, but I do not judge anyone. And even if I should judge, my judgment is valid, because I am not alone, but it is I and the Father who sent me. Even in your law it is written that the testimony of two men can be verified. I testify on my behalf and so does the Father who sent me.”

So they said to him, “Where is your father?” Jesus answered, “You know neither me nor my Father. If you knew me, you would know my Father also.”

He spoke these words while teaching in the treasury in the temple area. But no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come.

The Daily Path: Yesterday, I posted a very thought provoking painting by Jonathan Burstein titled “Church” (see below). Since finding it early Sunday morning, the image of this painting has remained  in my mind’s eye. I plan to post the image here on GNTG each day until Easter in hope that it will serve as a reminder to me and other travelers. There are many things to consider in reflecting on it…

The face of Jesus is really in everyone we encounter along the journey. Will I fall prey to appearances and ignore Christ in our midst? Or will I find it in my heart to know Jesus and the Father?

Church by Jonathan Burstein

Actions

Information

One response

22 03 2010
Ash

It is a beautiful painting indeed! Having just returned from mass, fresh in my mind I am reminded to hold on to the light and to see the light in others. It all sounds so simple, but it is hard and we need to keep trying.

Leave a Reply

