The True Promise – Good News for April 21

21 04 2010

John 6:35-40

Jesus said to the crowds, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me will never hunger, and whoever believes in me will never thirst. But I told you that although you have seen me, you do not believe. Everything that the Father gives me will come to me, and I will not reject anyone who comes to me, because I came down from heaven not to do my own will but the will of the one who sent me. And this is the will of the one who sent me, that I should not lose anything of what he gave me, but that I should raise it on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have eternal life, and I shall raise him on the last day.”

The Daily Path: Earlier this week, a good friend and fellow traveler in the journey shared in confidence the struggle that he and his family are coping with. They are experiencing pain that I pray I never have to feel in my own life. As he described the circumstances, I was vividly reminded that man will let us down, but God won’t.

More and more I’m allowed to witness our inherent weakness. Even those closest to us will ultimately fail to provide what we need. Often the trust we place in them will be betrayed. Jesus experienced this time and again with those he deeply loved in his time of earth. I guess we shouldn’t be surprised when this happens to us. However, we should put our faith in the one true promise, the real hope, that God provides each of us in His Son.

Everyone and everything else will fail in time, but I believe in God’s promise, that through His Son, I will find eternal life at the end of my journey. Of this I am certain… He will not let me down.

Room to Chat: Father, there is one among us who needs the Spirit to deal with the challenges he currently faces on earth. Some whom he has looked to in this life have let him down. Bring Your grace to life in this man and his family so they may find hope in Your truth and strength in the promise of Your Son, Jesus, the Christ. At the same time, may they also find the power of forgiveness, just as Jesus demonstrated when those He loved on earth let Him down.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

