Feeling His Voice – Good News for April 24

24 04 2010

John 6:60-69

Many of the disciples of Jesus who were listening said, “This saying is hard; who can accept it?” Since Jesus knew that his disciples were murmuring about this, he said to them, “Does this shock you? What if you were to see the Son of Man ascending to where he was before? It is the Spirit that gives life, while the flesh is of no avail. The words I have spoken to you are Spirit and life. But there are some of you who do not believe.”

Jesus knew from the beginning the ones who would not believe and the one who would betray him. And he said, “For this reason I have told you that no one can come to me unless it is granted him by my Father.”

As a result of this, many of his disciples returned to their former way of life and no longer walked with him. Jesus then said to the Twelve, “Do you also want to leave?” Simon Peter answered him, “Master, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe  and are convinced that you are the Holy One of God.”

The Daily Path: Yesterday, I had another visit from God.

“Wahoo! Martha, come quick. The blogging crackpot is going to tell us about another one of his experiences with the Almighty. This one ought to be a doozy!”

Stan, you are correct. It was a “doozy” as you put it. It’s the third time in my life when I have felt God speak directly to me. I say felt because I do not hear His voice as we hear a bird singing outside the window. Yet He used words to reach me that were just as clear, just as audible. This is what I felt Him say to me…

“Tell my stories.”

This event occurred during Mass at Christ the Light Cathedral in Oakland. I find this interesting because the building has been much maligned for several reasons, including the high cost of construction at a time when many felt the money could be used elsewhere. I won’t enter into that debate here. I only share the venue because God chose a place to talk with me that – up until then – had seemed cold, uninviting and anything but about His light.

My response to God was “Okay. I’ll tell your stories, but you have to take care of my family.”

“Martha! You’re missing the good stuff. Now he’s making demands on God!”

Imagine that, Stan. God asks me to do something and I’m putting conditions on it. Well, not really conditions. You see, I’ll do what God asks and put my faith in Him that we will be provided for.

Once again, Saul’s journey to Damascus has come to life for me. Was it mere coincidence that yesterday’s reading was Acts 9:1-20? I don’t think so. There is no “Coincidence” page in God’s playbook. Seems more likely that I was being reminded of the second time I felt His words – the time I felt God call me by name and ask, “Why are you ignoring me?”

Friends, I share my experiences so that you might find hope along the journey. If God can pick out a flawed mess of a man like me from the crowd – pick me me up, dust me off, and set me back on the way home – imagine what He can do for you.

Keep me in your prayers as I reflect on God’s conversation with me. I think I know what He wants. Now I must open my eyes and ears fully to be aware of what unfolds before me. This is how I will come to understand the steps I am to take in doing what has been asked of me. I feel the next part of my journey is about to begin.

“Master, I go to you. You are the words of eternal life. I have come to believe  and am convinced that you are the Holy One of God.”

Room to Chat: Father, today my oldest daughter will join the banquet with your Son as she receives her First Communion. Please keep her close so that the light of Christ will always guide her way. May her heart be open to your voice within as she walks along the path.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 04 2010
Dr Joy

I had a dream that you should tell God’s stories. I guess God is working all angles to get you the message. Let us know how we can help!

25 04 2010
Kin Robles

I must agree with you, Dr. Joy. God is using many voices to get my attention, including yours.

How can you help? First and foremost I need your prayers. Ask Jesus to continue to guide me. Ask that your old friend may be further inspired to fulfill what is being asked of me and to use my skills in the way God intends.

Thank you, good doctor. Truly, you are one of the gifts I’ve been given in this life.

25 04 2010
Carolina Maine

Kin,

We are alike-I will send you my thoughts and some things….

Wonderful piece here!

Leave a Reply

