Father Son One – Good News for May 1

1 05 2010

John 14:7-14

Jesus said to his disciples, “If you know me, then you will also know my Father. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said to Jesus, “Master, show us the Father, and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you for so long a time and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me?

The words that I speak to you I do not speak on my own. The Father who dwells in me is doing his works. Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else, believe because of the works themselves.

Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes in me will do the works that I do, and will do greater ones than these, because I am going to the Father. And whatever you ask in my name, I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything of me in my name, I will do it.”

The Daily Path: My high school soccer coach was a former European pro who played for Real Madrid in Spain. He left the game to become a Catholic priest. During practice, Fr. Pablo would get frustrated with us when we couldn’t execute some facet of the game that he spent many hours trying to teach us. I can still see his olive skin turning beet red underneath his scruffy beard, and hear his voice as he would emphatically ask in a heavy accent: “Robles! How I have to say to you?!”

I suspect that Jesus wanted to do the same thing with his disciples. Maybe he did and our faithful scribe John merely failed to add the exclamation points. Just as my coach tried to get me to have faith in what he was teaching, so, too, did Jesus try to get his team on board the concept that He and the Father are one. Simple, eh?

What do you mean, No??!!

“Stan! How I have to say to you?”


Actions

Information

One response

1 05 2010
Joel O'Camb

Very good example in the Daily Path of Jesus’ relationship to the disciples compared to your ex-pro coach and the high school students. Now imagine how much more frustrating to be all knowing and trying to teach such infant like associates; only through GRACE!

Leave a Reply

