Pruning – Good News for May 5

5 05 2010

John 15:1-8

Jesus said to his disciples, “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine grower. He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit, and everyone that does he prunes so that it bears more fruit. You are already pruned because of the word that I spoke to you.

Remain in me, as I remain in you. Just as a branch cannot bear fruit on its own unless it remains on the vine, so neither can you unless you remain in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit, because without me you can do nothing.

Anyone who does not remain in me will be thrown out like a branch and wither; people will gather them and throw them into a fire and they will be burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you. By this is my Father glorified, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.”

The Daily Path: I was pruned in 2006. A serious of life changing events enabled me to open my ears and heart to Jesus. Without the illness and failure, I would have continued to wither. Instead, from the stumps of my old life grew the tiny blossoms of a new fuller life. Gradually these little buds have grown the fruit that brings me closer to Christ.

What Jesus says is true. I know this because I have lived it.

But my spiritual journey and the growth of my wimpy little branch is not over. I may be pruned again. If such is to be, then I pray that my heart will always remain true to Jesus through what remains ahead. What I want above all else is to be a worthy disciple and to finish my journey home to the Father. Truly, He has shown me the way.

Actions

Information

One response

5 05 2010
Daniel Tomlinson

It took me longer to realize He was pruning me. He’s still pruning me, and He’ll continue to prune me like you observed.

I’ll be honest with you. I don’t like it. Frankly, I hate it, and I wish it would stop, but I know it won’t. Somehow in my heart of hearts I know it’s making me a better person, but there are times when I am one horrible person in the journey.

“So do not loose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us and eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes, not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Cor. 4 I think 🙂

Thank you once again for being a catalyst for truth in my life. Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

