Fill-Up – Good News for May 10

10 05 2010

John 15:26 – 16:4

Jesus said to his disciples, “When the Advocate comes whom I will send you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who proceeds from the Father, he will testify to me. And you also testify, because you have been with me from the beginning.”

“I have told you this so that you may not fall away. They will expel you from the synagogues; in fact, the hour is coming when everyone who kills you will think he is offering worship to God. They will do this because they have not known either the Father or me. I have told you this so that when their hour comes you may remember that I told you.”

The Daily Path: Each of us face challenges on a daily basis. We are well equipped to deal with many. Others prove far more daunting, beyond what our original equipment is designed to handle. So where do we find the extra horsepower required to address the need?

The Spirit!

Just as God provided the Apostles what was needed for them to go out into the world and deliver the Good News – in the face of peril and death from among their own – so too, the Holy Spirit is sent to each of us who are with Jesus. I haven’t heard a mighty wind rattling my doors, nor have I spoken in tongues with a flame above my head – but I know the Spirit is often with me as I look for the courage to do what God is asking of me.

If you’re looking for something a little extra to put in your gas tank today, maybe you should pull into the filling station and ask God for a gallon of Spirit. A little seems to go a long way!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

