What Is He Saying? – Good News for May 13

13 05 2010

John 16:16-20

Jesus said to his disciples, “A little while and you will no longer see me, and again a little while later and you will see me.”

Some of his disciples said to one another, “What does this mean that he is saying to us, ‘A little while and you will not see me, and again a little while and you will see me,’ and ‘Because I am going to the Father’?” So they said, “What is this ‘little while’ of which he speaks? We do not know what he means.”

Jesus knew that they wanted to ask him, so he said to them, “Are you discussing with one another what I said, ‘A little while and you will not see me, and again a little while and you will see me’? Amen, amen, I say to you, you will weep and mourn, while the world rejoices; you will grieve, but your grief will become joy.”

The Daily Path: Most days I’m asking myself the same question as the Apostles did in this passage from John.

“What does Jesus mean when he says…?”

What I find truly amazing is how Jesus knows that I’m asking these questions. Same as with the Apostles, Jesus knows that I’m often unsure. And just as He knows that I hold these questions, so too does He provide answers… or at least enough additional information to lead me to many answers. Believe me when I tell you that I’m seeing this time and again in my journey.

Jesus may have departed the earth and ascended into Heaven, however, He is anything but gone from our lives.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

