Staying In Love – Good News for May 14

14 05 2010

John 15:9-17

Jesus said to his disciples, “As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love.

“I have told you this so that my joy might be in you and your joy might be complete. This is my commandment: love one another as I love you. No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing.

I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father. It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you.

This I command you:  love one another.”

The Daily Path: Have you noticed there is some serious repetition going on? John is known as the love scribe and it’s easy to understand why. He’s the disciple inspired to share with us the key message: It’s all about staying in love.

God loves us and wants us to love Him. By keeping his commandment to love one another we demonstrate our love for Him. It’s a love cycle. A road map to stay in love.

Recently a friend shared something I felt was pretty cool. As we sat around talking with a larger group of friends, he said: “Man, I am so in love with my wife.”

Incredible statement. You just don’t hear that much, especially in a group of men. Men talk about “safe” things like sports and business so we don’t have to open up and become vulnerable. If you love, you take risk… and we like to mitigate risk.

I just had this image come to mind…

You’re in the corporate board room. The CEO walks in signaling that it’s time for the meeting to begin. One of his deputies starts with the usual “Let’s get started as we have a lot to cover today.”

The CEO interrupts, “Just a second, Roberta. Before we begin I think it’s important to share something.”

He stands up and leans forward placing both hands firmly on the polished wood surface to support his weight. There is a long pause as the CEO slowly looks around the table in the board room. This pause lingers and the executive council begins to shift in their seats wondering what’s going on.

Finally, the CEO stands straight, removes his glasses and says: “I am so in love with God.”


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 05 2010
JS Park

John is great.
I’ve seen a “superior” interview a candidate for a job and he actually used his position of power to evangelize to the possible employee. Paraphrased: “I’m going to hire you, but you come to church and hear some Bible.”

14 05 2010
Daniel Tomlinson

God’s always at work, but I sense something deeper going on in our nation as each of us comes to grips with His love for us. Not only do you and I share it here, but I see it in Hollywood, Wall Street and Washington.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

