With Understanding – Good News for June 3

4 06 2010

Mark 12:28-34

One of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him, “Which is the first of all the commandments?”

Jesus replied, “The first is this: Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind,and with all your strength.

The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

There is no other commandment greater than these.”

The scribe said to him, “Well said, teacher. You are right in saying, He is One and there is no other than he. And to love him with all your heart, with all your understanding, with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices.”

And when Jesus saw that he answered with understanding, he said to him, “You are not far from the Kingdom of God.”

And no one dared to ask him any more questions.

The Daily Path: My apologies for missing yesterday’s GNTG posting. A very dear friend passed away on Wednesday evening… my trusty computer. The old Apple G5 left me to go to the Infinite Loop in the sky when its mother board died. I’ll miss it.

This was the computer that accompanied me during the first steps in my spiritual journey. It was in the wee hours of the morning when I couldn’t sleep, filled my anxiety and rage, that I first used it to read Scripture passages that I found online. Ultimately it was with the G5 that I started GNTG over 500 posts ago.

Ancient scribes used papyrus. Someday this technology will seem as obsolete as paper made of reeds, but one thing will endure… the Good News.

So long old friend. Thank you for helping me along the path. It will be some time before I can afford to replace you with a shiny new iMac, so for now, your towering remains can stay here at my desk and continue to look over my shoulder as I seek inspiration from the daily readings.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 06 2010
Carolina Maine

I’m sorry to hear about your friend, Kin. That is how I have felt whenever I lose a laptop-I’ve gone through 3 PCs and each time, I feel like an era is ending. I want an Apple one day.
This week-I’ve had a difficult time. The things I shared with you-I shared with my priest and Archbishop. Instead of understanding-they acted like I’m permanently delusional-G-d can’t speak to me.
I told them that when G-d said, “Face your fears and I will make you a saint.” He wasn’t saying-canonized-canonization is really just an earthly formality. A saint is a person who loves G-d and who makes daily decisions and faces daily obstacles because of their love for G-d…you don’t need prophecies, miracles, or any of that. I hope you find yourself in that definition. Much love in Christ!

4 06 2010
To Whom Does G-d Speak? | Poet Verse

[…] post was inspired by my friend, Kin. Check out his post for today, Good News To Go. This entry was posted in poems, literature, culture, art, religion, Catholic, […]

5 06 2010
Kin Robles

Carolina,

What you have shared with us, regarding the response of your priest and Archbishop, immediately reminds me of how many others – who have also experienced some revelation – have been received by the Church. Some of those have gone on to canonization, but the vast majority remain unknown, quietly living the definition of saint you offer. I have to chuckle because if you lined up all the canonized variety of saint you’d probably find each could be diagnosed as delusional. I’m okay with being in that group!

We’ve come to understand that humans (and computers) let us down – but God will not. Jesus warns us that following His road will not be easy. It’s not. But the journey is also filled with events that although painful in the moment enable us to see a more magnificent existence than previously possible through our limited “original equipment”.

As always, I appreciate your willingness to be open and share your journey.

peace

p.s. Maybe God will send a couple of Apples our way 😉 That’s a miracle I wouldn’t mind in the chronicles of saintly living!

5 06 2010
Carolina Maine

LOL! That’s the best-I think apples would be nice:) You’re right, it is tough-that’s why I share-because I think that helping each other is the best way. I guess being a new Catholic-I was surprised and disappointed. I shared the same things with a Presbyterian pastor and he was warm, kind, and actually directed me to writings that would help me in my journey. That was all I wanted from the priest and Archbishop. Now that the Ab knows my name-I kind of feel like finding the nearest rock and pulling it on top of me 😦

At first, I was tempted to just quit-and then I decided-if they don’t want me to share with them-I will share online with people who do want to share-and for me to share with them. Why waste g
ood fruit on picky eaters?

I don’t know of another way to put it. I’m so tired today-I went to a birthday party full of little kids so that probably has something to do with it.

Thanks for all of your encouragement. I’m happy I met you on here-

Leave a Reply

