Unfaithful Beans – Good News for June 9

9 06 2010

Timothy 2:8-15

Beloved,

Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, a descendant of David: such is my Gospel, for which I am suffering, even to the point of chains, like a criminal. But the word of God is not chained. Therefore, I bear with everything for the sake of those who are chosen, so that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, together with eternal glory.

This saying is trustworthy:

If we have died with him we shall also live with him; if we persevere we shall also reign with him. But if we deny him he will deny us. If we are unfaithful he remains faithful, for he cannot deny himself.

Remind people of these things and charge them before God to stop disputing about words. This serves no useful purpose since it harms those who listen. Be eager to present yourself as acceptable to God, a workman who causes no disgrace, imparting the word of truth without deviation.

The Daily Path: Who among us has the ability to remain 100% faithful to anything? Perfection is not a sustainable gift for human beans. (Yes, I know, but that’s what one of my kids called human “beings”). Even saints had moments of weakness on this earth. Jesus best friend was the poster child for the unfaithful bean club.

And in our imperfection is where we also get a glimpse of God’s perfection. Although we screw up all the time – like those kids who are perpetually in the principal’s office for the inability to remain focused in class – God remains perfectly faithful to us. As Timothy reminds us, God cannot deny himself. We are part of Him. As such, He cannot be unfaithful to us.

“I see we’re back again today, heh, Mr. Robles?”

“Yes, God.”

“What was it this time?”

“I didn’t feel like opening my heart to you.”

“Why not?”

“It wasn’t convenient. I was too busy playing with my stuff.”

“I see. Do you still feel that way?”

“No, God.”

“Good. Will you try to do better today?”

“Yes, God. I will.”

“Wonderful. Now go wash your face and hurry back to class.”

“Thank you, God.”

“Oh, just one more thing… even though you’ve been unfaithful to me thousands of times, I still love you.”

Maybe we can get through today remaining faithful to God. If not, I’ll see you in the wash room.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

