The Persecutors – Good News for October 5

5 10 2010

St. Paul’s Letter to the Galatians 1:13-24

Brothers and Sisters,

You heard of my former way of life in Judaism, how I persecuted the Church of God beyond measure and tried to destroy it, and progressed in Judaism beyond many of my contemporaries among my race, since I was even more a zealot for my ancestral traditions. But when he, who from my mother’s womb had set me apart and called me through his grace, was pleased to reveal his Son to me, so that I might proclaim him to the Gentiles, I did not immediately consult flesh and blood, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those who were Apostles before me; rather, I went into Arabia and then returned to Damascus.

Then after three years I went up to Jerusalem to confer with Cephas and remained with him for fifteen days. But I did not see any other of the Apostles, only James the brother of the Lord. (As to what I am writing to you, behold, before God, I am not lying.) Then I went into the regions of Syria and Cilicia. And I was unknown personally to the churches of Judea that are in Christ; they only kept hearing that “the one who once was persecuting us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.” So they glorified God because of me.

The Daily Path: St. Paul’s letter is an incredible testimony to how the grace of God can work in anyone. One minute “Saul” is brutally persecuting Christians. The next he is miraculously transformed into Paul, preaching about the Christ, building believers across many lands. He even pleads to the truth of his witness!

There was a time when I, too, persecuted Our Lord’s followers. I didn’t attack them or cause bodily harm as “Saul” did before his conversion. But for many years I largely denied my faith and ignored the opportunity to live in Christ. I found it easier to mock my Catholic roots than choose the harder road of embracing God. I believe that God looks for the most difficult nuts to crack so that his power and complete love can be more evident for all to see.

Actions

Information

One response

7 10 2010
Carolina Maine

Kin, I really enjoyed your thoughts and honesty in your daily path message. I was pretty much the same way.

Leave a Reply

