Advent Day 18 – Good News for December 15

15 12 2010

Excerpts from Isaiah 45

I am the Lord, there is no other; I form the light, and create the darkness, I make well-being and create woe; I, the Lord, do all these things. Let justice descend, O heavens, like dew from above, like gentle rain let the skies drop it down. Let the earth open and salvation bud forth; let justice also spring up! I, the Lord, have created this.

Turn to me and be safe, all you ends of the earth, for I am God; there is no other!

The Daily Path: When I was a kid my parents would bundle me up in my pajamas and a blanket for a drive around town to look at all the Christmas lights. I do this with my own kids today as we’ve made it part of our Christmas tradition. When I think about it, the spiritual journey is not unlike this tradition I’ve enjoyed for so many years. I drive through darkness everyday. Sometimes I’m able to see the magnificent light displays all around me and bask in the glow. Other times the lights seem off in a distance or I can’t see them at all. The light of Christmas (Christ) is always there, but sometimes my head is pointed down… or, like that kid in the PJs from so long ago, I’ve drifted off to sleep.

Look for the lights of Christmas in your daily life. Let them fill you with joy and wonder just as it did when you were a kid (hopefully you’ve never completely grown up!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

